Hey, Find It
Hey, Find It


The health care providers taxonomy codes are unique alphanumeric codes, ten characters in length. The codes are divided into three distinct "levels": Provider Grouping, Classification, and Area of Specialization. The code set levels are organized to allow navigating down from generic classification to a provider's most specific level of specialization. The code set is designed for use in electronic health care transactions mandated under HIPAA.

Taxonomy codes are self-selected by the health care providers. Their specialty is defined based on their education level and training. Taxonomy codes do not specify the actual services rendered by the health care provider.

The taxonomy code set is divided in three hierarchical -Levels- starting with Level I Provider Grouping followed by Level II Classification and Level III Area of Specialization.

Level I - Provider Grouping

This is the root level of the taxonomy codes set. Here you will find all the major grouping of services and occupations of health care providers.

Level II - Classification

This is the second level of the taxonomy codes data set. The classification level is more specific and describes the service or occupation of the health care provider.

Level III - Area of Specialization

This is the third and last level of the taxonomy codes data set. The area of specialization level describes the specific services practiced by the health care provider. For instance, all Allopathic & Osteopathic Physicians that have subspecialty certificates issued by national boards will find their taxonomy code at this level.

The National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) maintains the taxonomy code set. The taxonomy code set is updated twice a year on January 1st and July 1st. The January update is effective on the next April 1st of that year while the July update is effective on October 1st of the same year. The current taxonomy code version is NCCU Provider Taxonomy Version 22.1 and was last updated on July 01, 2022.

Taxonomy Codes